2024 How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Florida?

After receiving DUI charges, one of the first things on your mind might be, “How long does a DUI stay on your record in Florida?” Anyone completing a background check can see a DUI charge on your record, impacting your future employment, housing, or educational options. This is why it is so important to contact a criminal defense attorney with experience in DUI cases as soon as possible if you have received a DUI charge.

Charges vs. Convictions

If you were pulled over during a traffic stop by a law enforcement officer, it might have been because they believed you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If they test your blood alcohol level and determine that it is over the legal limit of .08%, they might charge you with a DUI. If this happens, they will normally suspend your license and give you a temporary one that only allows you to drive to and from work or business.

However, drivers who get their license suspended due to a DUI charge can request a hearing from the DMV. This hearing must be requested within the 10-day window after you receive the DUI charges. If the hearing goes well, they might reverse the suspension and give you back your license. If they decide that the suspension was necessary, then the suspension will continue for the length of time associated with how many times you’ve received a DUI charge:

  • First Offense: 6 months to 1 year
  • Second Offense: at least 6 months if you committed your first DUI over 5 years ago, at least 5 years if you committed your first DUI within five years of your second DUI
  • Third Offense: at least 10 years
  • Fourth Offense: In most cases, any DUIs after a third offense will result in losing your license permanently.

If you work with an experienced DUI attorney, your charges might get dropped for a variety of reasons. If this happens, your criminal record will still show the fact that you were given DUI charges for seven years. In some cases, you might be able to work with your attorney to get these charges expunged from your record so that the public is not able to see them.

A DUI conviction means that the court found you guilty of the DUI charges you were accused of. Convictions are different in the fact that they are meant to stay on your criminal record permanently. In Florida, a conviction remains on your record for 75 years. This also includes plea bargains since taking a plea bargain means you are admitting that you are guilty, even if it means you might get a reduced sentence.

If you have been convicted of a DUI and an employer sees this on a background check, they might ask you additional questions about the context of the situation, but they do not have to. This also applies to others who might request a background check, including potential landlords, housing lenders, and banks. This means it can be helpful to try to get your charges dropped or dismissed to prevent a DUI from permanently showing up on your record.

These penalties and convictions also apply to driving a boat while under the influence, sometimes called a BUI. Before deciding which actions you will take regarding your DUI, it is important to consult a reputable DUI attorney. They can review all of the context surrounding your situation and develop an action plan to aim for a positive outcome for your case.


Q: How Long Does It Take for a DUI To Come Off Your Record in Florida?

A: Depending on the circumstances, it might take up to 75 years for a DUI to come off of your driving record in Florida, or it might even stay on your record permanently. Most DUI charges are also ineligible for expungement or getting wiped off your record prematurely. These charges can be devastating to your life, which is why it is important to contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after receiving a DUI charge.

Q: How Long Does a DUI Show Up on a Background Check in Florida?

A: DUI convictions are meant to be permanent and can show up on a background check for up to 75 years in Florida. However, DUI charges that were dropped only remain on your driving record for seven years. Additionally, if you received DUI charges that were later dropped, you might be able to get your record expunged, preventing members of the public from seeing it. This would prevent people from seeing a DUI charge on a background check.

Q: How Does a DUI Affect Your Life in Florida?

A: Most importantly, a DUI usually results in some amount of jail time or probation, mandatory community service, fines, and getting your vehicle taken away for a certain time period. The exact sentencing depends on how many DUI charges you have received. In most cases, DUIs are misdemeanors, but receiving too many in a certain timespan or harming others as a result of a DUI can result in a felony charge. Felonies carry additional consequences.

Q: Can I Drive After a DUI in Florida?

A: DUI charges usually include some form of license suspension that ranges from 6 months to 10 years, depending on the amount of DUIs you have received previously. In most cases, you must complete certain things like educational courses or training for DUI offenders before your license can be restored. Some people might be able to apply for a hardship license if they must drive for work or business, but this is not always granted.

Compassionate and Aggressive Legal Representation

DUI charges often come with questions and worries about what the future might hold. To get a clearer picture of what might happen, contact Jeff Marshall Law. We have experience working with clients charged with DUIs and other criminal charges. In the past, we have been able to help our clients reach not-guilty verdicts or dismiss their charges entirely. Schedule a consultation to learn more about how Jeff Marshall Law can assist you with your DUI case.


Request Your
Free Consultation

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.